Episode #5

We saw Sam Billen and Perhapsy last night. (Sorry we didn’t stay for Capybara. Why doesn’t somebody get a clue and start shows earlier on weeknights?) I uploaded some pictures and a video from Sam’s oh-too-short set. Don’t you just love the internet?

Speaking of the internet, if you have time, check out Tim Truesdale’s article on Radio Free Raytown in The Raytown Post. He did a good job making me sound articulate and coherent.

Anyway, it’s that time again. This week’s show is better than the previous four put together. The only thing that improve it would be an accompanying back massage from Eddie Hazel.

  1. Temptations – Unite the Land
  2. The Undisputed Truth – Smiling Faces Sometimes
  3. Funkadelic – I’ve Got a Thing, You’ve Got a Thing, Everybody’s Got a Thing
  4. Bill Mallonee – Who Do You Love?
  5. Damien Jurado – Ohio
  6. Beck – It’s All in Your Mind

Radio Free Raytown Episode #5 – 8/5/09

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Episode #5

  1. Shane says:

    I love me some Damien Jurado and I’ve had that song stuck in my head the last couple days, cool!

    I believe that Beck song is only on the reissue of One Foot in the Grave and was actually first released on Sea Change, but I may be wrong.

    • Jonathon says:

      I believe you are correct on the Beck tune. And have you heard Neil Halstead’s song, “Sleeping on Roads”? He take Jurado’s melody from “Ohio” and writes new lyrics to it. And because it Halstead, it actually turns out well.

  2. jess says:

    Great podcast! I was raised in Raytown in the 1950’s – 1960’s and moved to Texas in 1973. Good to see an interest in good music.

Leave a Reply

