Letting the phenominal cat out of the bag.

This morning, I am listening to the new Tortoise album and laying out and writing descriptions for a show at Benetti’s Coffee Experience.  On September 21, I will hang a show that explores artwork from soul/R&B and jazz albums of the early 70s.  Considering that I have a history degree, I am more interested in the historical and sociological context that influenced these albums’ creation.  It was a time of considerable change for the record industry, much like today, and I hope to explore some of that.  There’s nothing new under the sun, folks.  Except maybe Joy Division.

Speaking of Benetti’s, I’ve been in conversation with Ben Helt about starting a Sunday spin night, where we play records and people drink (lots of) coffee.  I don’t want to speak too soon, but it looks like I’ll curate the events and inviting people to bring their own vinyl.  There will obviously be more on this later, so check back.

I’ve been listening to Buddy Miles a lot.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

