Angel Tree event

pf posterOn Saturday, October 17, there will be an event to raise awareness and funds for Prison Fellowship’s Angel Tree ministry in the area.  My band has been asked to play at the event, and my promotional prowess has been tapped to get the word out.

Before I proceed, I should tell you that I don’t work for Prison Fellowship, and I also don’t know about every detail for the evening (although I could certainly send you in the direction of someone who does).

Prison Fellowship and Angel Tree are important to me.  We are a country that likes to say we love justice, but most of us prize vengeance instead.  Unfortunately, many people in prisons also have families suffering from their poor choices and our spite.  True, some of these families can grow impatient or develop an unhealthy sense of entitlement, but can you really blame them?  Besides that, Jesus never really said that we should wait to figure out if people will really appreciate our help before we offer it.  (I’ll get down from my soapbox now.)

The event will be at Benetti’s Coffee Experience, from 6-9 p.m.  In addition to an opportunity for adopting a family or donating money to the cause, there will be a Raku firing pit in the back and entertainment provided by Brendan Hollis and My Science Fiction Twin (my band).  We will also sell some merchandise, for those with money left from coffee, pottery and donating.

I will give more information as that day draws nigh, sharing everything I know via this site and my weekly show.

See you there!

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Angel Tree event

  1. Jonathon says:

    I just got an e-mail from Tim Truesdale, pastor of the Raytown Vineyard, and thought I’d add this to the post…

    The Raytown Vineyard is teaming up with Prison Fellowship Ministries to hold an Awareness/Fundraiser Event for Angel Tree on Saturday, October 17th from 6-9 PM at Benetti’s Coffee Experience in downtown Raytown. Angel Tree provides Christmas presents to children who have one or both parents incarcerated. Our goal is to attract 200 participants and raise $2000 for this charity. We will have fire pits for s’mores, Raku firing by Mary Bliss, and two live bands who will play at no charge: Brendan Hollis (brendanhollismusic.com) and My Science Fiction Twin (myspace.com/mysciencefictiontwin). Prison Ministries will also have a booth set up to advertise Angel Tree and will speak and show videos in between band sets. Remember, IT’S FOR THE KIDS!

  2. raytownvineyard says:

    Jonathon,

    Thanks so much for adding the previous note!

    We have now added more information that folks can access here:

    http://raytownvineyardchurch.wordpress.com/2009/10/05/its-for-the-kids/

    THANKS,

    tt

Leave a Reply

