Episode 12: I hear music in the air.

sister rosetta tharpe 02

Sister Rosetta Tharpe (1915-1973), co-author of "Up Above My Head"

I start with a song from the three-disc set of recordings from Wattstax released a few years ago.  (It”s technically a reissue, but with all the previously unlreleased material, it feels like a new release.)  I just recently got the collection, and it’s been blowing my mind ever since.  Overall, it is a collection of fairly decent recordings, especially considering they were live recordings from 1972.  I really appreciate how it showcases many obscure overshadowed by the label’s heavyweights.

At any rate, this week’s episode is for the crybabies who whined that last week’s show put them to sleep.  Stir up the Similac and press play.

  1. Up Above My Head – Rance Allen Group (1972)
  2. Follow You Follow Me – Genesis (1978)
  3. Number 5 – Fugazi (2001)
  4. Carnival Kids – Futureheads (2004)

Radio Free Raytown – Episode 12 (10/2/09)

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Episode 12: I hear music in the air.

  1. Brandon says:

    the burp wasn’t necessary.

  2. Brandon says:

    oh, by the way, when are you going to play some Spin Doctors.

  3. Jonathan Andrews says:

    I loved the burp!!

Leave a Reply

