Sunday Spin Setlist (10/11/09)

katy with headphonesI am playing some records at Benetti’s Coffee Experience on Sunday, to kick off the store’s weekly Sunday Spins.  I will have a sign-up sheet for you to bring an album next week, so will hopefully I will be providing fewer records each week.

Most of the time at these events, I will play entire sides of albums.  To keep things mixed up, I have chosen only to play one side of each album.  I’ll occasionally break from this and play an entire album if warranted, like when I play A Love Supreme in a few weeks.  (I already anticipate people’s criticisms about only playing half of these albums, but trust me, you will still get plenty of deep album cuts and non-singles.)

Since album sides usually run about 20-25 minutes, you can plan on a different side about every half hour.  I’ll start at 6:00, so plan accordingly, if you want to hear a particular record.  (I’ve included links describing the albums, so do your homework.)

  1. Duke Ellington – 70th Birthday Concert (side 1)
  2. Ray Charles – Greatest Hits (side 1)
  3. Oscar Peterson – Night Train (side 2)
  4. The Supremes – Where Did Our Love Go (side 1)
  5. The Kinks – Kinkdom (side 2)
  6. Buddy Miles – We Got to Live Together (side 2)
  7. Yes – Close to the Edge (side 2)
  8. Herbie Hancock – Head Hunters (side 1)
  9. Jimmy Cliff – The Harder They Come (side 2)
  10. Elvis Costello – This Year’s Model (side 2)
  11. XTC – Black Sea (side 2)

Oh yeah, and I’m going to post the next episode of Radio Free Raytown tomorrow morning, making your Friday even better!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Sunday Spin Setlist (10/11/09)

  1. Chad Toney says:

    Nice list! Close to the Edge is probably one of my top 5 favorite albums.

  2. Jonathon says:

    I’m also a fan of Tales from Topographic Oceans. But then again, I’m a huge fan of Bill Bruford. So maybe I like Close to the Edge better? And I guess the passage with Wakeman’s pipe organ in that first song really put it over the top.

    I’d hate to move to that proverbial desert island and have to choose between Close to the Edge and Genesis’ Foxtrot.

  3. Chad Toney says:

    The only Genesis I have so far is Selling England… and so far it has failed to grab me. I have given it a good 4 listens. What am I doing wrong!?

    • Jonathon says:

      I have no idea, man. That’s the record I got into. I especially love the guitar/organ combo in the mid-section of “Firth of Fifth.”

      Perhaps you should try Foxtrot? If “Supper’s Ready” or “Watcher of the Skies” don’t twiddle your apples, I don’t know what would.

Leave a Reply

