A band worth keeping tabs on.

A friend of mine gave me The Trouser Press Guide to New Wave Records for my birthday last week.  Finding it strange that the book only discussed the first two Husker Du records, I looked in the front and found that it was published in 1983.  (It was first published as a hardcover in December 1982, so it doesn’t cover anything actually released in 1983.)  It’s a great book that covers new wave bands, and bands that influenced new wave bands, from roughly 1976 to 1982, and it’s interesting to see how opinions/criticisms have fared over 25 years.

I found this write-up interesting, prophetic and a little funny.  R.E.M. had only realeased their EP, Chronic Town, when the book was compiled.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “A band worth keeping tabs on.

  1. Shane says:

    That’s really cool. I dig reading books/magazines published about someone before their biggest, most popular claim to fame occurs. History can be fun, tell all the kiddies.

    • Jonathon says:

      I think it’s the historian in me that loves primary sources because they help me construct an understanding of how people really felt at a particular time.

  2. Russ says:

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the book. It was essential to me through the early ’80s and obviously features many bands I know you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

