An unpaid advertisement of sorts.

Earwaxx is small and fairly easy to miss.

About a month ago, Shane Par-due and I stopped in Earwaxx to take pictures for this write-up.  A week later, I wanted my camera for a concert my wife and I attended.  I searched everywhere I could think of, but I never found my camera.  I knew I had used it at the store, but I just knew I couldn’t have left it there.

The view from the front door.

As I walked back in the store again three weeks later, one of the employees raced toward me with my long, lost camera in hand.  He had remembered it belonged to me and that I had been drooling over the store’s Guided By Voices 45s in my previous visit.  Nothing like endearing your store to your customers (and saving them from buying another camera).

Small, but good selection of cheap CDs.

So upon entry, the first apparent thing is the store”s size.  It’s tiny.  Maybe the size of a typical cheap, strip mall Mexican joint.  (They will be moving to the space next door in the same strip, increasing the store’s size.)  The next thing is an obvious focus on records, instead of CDs.  There is a small rack of CDs, but the store is clearly devoted to vinyl.  Another thing I liked was how clean the place was, too.  I’m so used to record stores being messy and usually requiring some effort to find anything.

When looking through records, I was immediately taken by how impeccibly clean most of the records were.  Most of the scratchy ones were limited to the bargain bin.  (The only exceptions are some rare jazz records that you’re lucky finding anywhere in any condition.)

Shane finds a gem.

I guess I’m not really sure how to write a great review of the place.  Perhaps I should talk about the super-clean records I’ve pulled out of the store for real cheap.  I have purchased the first Eyeless In Gaza LP, Close Lobsters’ Foxheads Stalk This Land, almost the entire Yes discography through Repeater, The Tubeway Army’s Replicas, a Buddy Rich/Max Roach record and a handful of 45s from bands like Rain Parade, Moose and Guided By Voices.  Again, everything was very cheap and very clean.

Please stop by and give Gary Wilkerson some business, especially during the store’s sale this week.  All used records over $2.99 are 20% off.  (And when I stopped by last week, they had just put out a bunch of classic stuff from Dylan, Clapton, The Beatles, The Band, etc.  Trust me, it’s more difficult to find that stuff in good shape than you’d believe.  Sure, a lot of people owned those records, but a lot of people also abused those records.)

Earwaxx Records and More
6408 N. Oak Trafficway, Gladstone

(And for those interested, I have posted more pictures from the store in my album on Flickr.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “An unpaid advertisement of sorts.

  1. Shane says:

    That photo of me was obviously photoshopped.

  2. Ben Helt says:

    I never leave Earwaxx disappointed. Well, that’s not true. I’m usually disappointed that I can’t spend more while I am there.

    Try to recruit these guys to my neck of the woods. 🙂

Leave a Reply

