What’s so funny about Nick Lowe?

It seems that every time I pull out a Nick Lowe record, I can’t stop listening to it.  Then I get sucked into a vortex that doesn’t end without devouring much of his and Elvis Costello’s catalog.

I’m going to blame Katy for my descent this time.

She got me Quiet Please: The New Best of Nick Lowe, a 2 CD + DVD combo, for Christmas, and I have been sneaking in a listen every chance I get this weekend.  The best thing, to me, about this collection is that it even includes stuff from his old bands, Rockpile and Brinsley Schwarz.

Lowe always feels so familiar to me, like a mix of The Who and late 50s country albums.  Whenever I listen to his music, I feel like I’ve heard it all before, but I realize that it’s only because he’s been covered or influential.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

