Episode #23: The Sound of Wonder

Des Jeunes Gens Mödernes, an amazing compilation of French new wave

Many times, I’ll play a record and wonder what someone would think if he/she walked in the room.  Or maybe what someone would think if he/she were to ride along with me in the car while I rocked out to a particular album.  My tastes aren’t predicated others’ opinions (although I do take suggestions), but sometimes I have to wonder…

You see, I have a thing for French music.  I also have a thing for Indian/Pakistani music.  Perhaps is the close association to dining in restaurants that play it?  Who knows?

At any rate, here’s this week’s show.  It’s a wild and fun way to start the new year.  Enjoy.

  1. “Life Hai Kuch Dinon Ki” – M. Ashraf featuring Nahid Akhtar (The Sound of Wonder: The First Wave of Plugged-In Pop at the Pakistani Picture House/Finders Keepers/2008)
  2. “Exposition” – Charles De Goal (Des Jeunes Gens Mödernes/Naive/2008)
  3. “Red Chair, Fade Away” – Bee Gee’s (1st/Atco/1967)
  4. “Kalamazoo” – Luna (Penthouse/Elektra/1995)
  5. “Noise International” – Loincloth (Swami Sound System Vol. 1/?/2003)

Radio Free Raytown – Episode #23 (1/1/10)

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Episode #23: The Sound of Wonder

  1. April Bey says:

    Awwwwww yeah…I’m diggin the radio bit! The music was pretty good too very hip.

  2. Buckley says:

    AWWWW YEEE-AH

  3. Joel Thomas says:

    For some reason this keeps cutting off right when you’re about to play the first song. It happens both on the streaming feature and when I try to download the mp3 and play it on iTunes.

    • Jonathon says:

      That’s really strange. I have another friend who says it only plays for 59 seconds when he streams it. I test them at least twice, on different computers, and they always work for me. Don’t know what else to say…? That response feels kinda lame.

Leave a Reply

