Episode 27: Across the Road From Hope

Sir Bono

I was reading an article about some UK underground industrial/noise/avant garde band in a recent edition of Wire and became aware of just how ridiculous it was. (After my revelation, I continued reading, mind you.) You see, I spend a lot of time with my shows talking about off-the-wall musicians, but trust me, I do like some very popular artists. Unfortunately, many times, I am still rather picky with what I like by those big artists. It’s all about the songs, and not necessarily the performers, right?

  1. “Shoot First, Leap Second” – Annie (Sci-Fi Cannon Blue(s)/Bulletproof/1999)
  2. “One Step Closer” – U2 (How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb/Island/2004)
  3. “This Life” – Bruce Springsteen (Working on a Dream/Columbia/2009)*
  4. “Joyless, Joyless” – Minus Story (The Captain is Dead, Let the Drum Corpse Dance/Jagjaguwar/2004)
  5. “163 Hillcrest” – R.E.M. (All the Way to Reno/Warner/2001)

Radio Free Raytown – Episode 27 (1/29/10)

*In listening back through this show, I discovered it sounds like I say that Springsteen’s  “Girls in Their Summer Clothes” is the best song Brian Wilson ever wrote. I’m not sure whether it’s the attack on my vocal’s compression or the bitrate of the MP3 that made it sound as such, but I should clarify that what I say is actually that it is the best song Brian Wilson never wrote.

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Episode 27: Across the Road From Hope

  1. Shane says:

    Ha, Annie…I forgot about that ridiculous Pitchfork obsession.

  2. Brandon says:

    It’s only letting me listen to about 7 minutes of the show and then I am getting dropped. Fix it.

  3. Joel Thomas says:

    I can’t believe you played Annie the band. OK, I can, because you have great taste and that band is right up your alley, etc. I have been planning to make a podcast for like, years now, and I was totally going to slide in some Annie…at least this helps me know which song not to.
    By the way, one of the dudes from Annie actually goes to my church. He’s studying Theology at Notre Dame and is working his way toward becoming an Orthodox priest, not unlike some of his friends from Luxury (and the bands resulting thereafter). They’re all out of the same regional scene, he told me, and had some similar spiritual influences, apparently.

Leave a Reply

