Episode 28: The Mind-Blowingest of Them All

Danish DJ, Anders Trentemøller

I’m a nerd. But you probably knew that.

Apart from those who really spend the time to pick my brain, I don’t think most know about my love for electronic music. Maybe I’m a little ashamed or maybe I realize most don’t really consider it real music or something, so I just don’t open up about it too much. Or it probably has more to do with the fact that my love of the genre (and its many sub-genres) doesn’t stop with accessible acts like New Order, Pet Shop Boys, Kraftwerk or Nine Inch Nails. Even IDM and glitch twiddle my apples, and I know few have patience for what sounds like a drum machine falling down the stairs.

Before you download, I should note that this is my first week of encoding MP3s at 160kbps. I’ve been hesitant to increase from 128kbps because it results in bigger files, but I think it’s necessary for better sound. I know, these shows are meant for enjoyment with cheap computer speakers over a lunch break at work or with headphones in a coffeeshop with lots of background noise, but the splattering sibilance has finally got to me. 160kbps is obviously still a compromise, but hopefully a better one. Enjoy.

  1. “Insides” – Jon Hopkins (Insides/Domino/2009)
  2. “Love In Outer Space” – 2562 (Unbalance/Tectronic/2009)
  3. “Kill the Poor” and “I Kill Children” – Dead Kennedys (Fresh Fruit for Rotting Vegetables/Cherry Red/1980)
  4. “Moan” – Trentemøller, featuring Ane Trolle (“Moan” single/Poker Flat/2007)

Radio Free Raytown – Episode 28 (2/5/10)

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Episode 28: The Mind-Blowingest of Them All

  1. Russ says:

    Very important to increase the encoding quality for DKs….

Leave a Reply

