Episode 36: Dreaming the Perfect Song

Joel Atkinson's classic Destroyer mix, also my introduction to Dan Bejar's work

Listening to country music seems to be a mark of growing old. I remember the day I got Willie Nelson, and it’s been all downhill since.

I used to poke fun at the lack of variety in most country songs’ chord changes. I have since found familiarity and predictability a friend to the wordsmith, however. It is so much easier to focus on storytelling when the listener doesn’t have to guess where the song is going. (Progressive rock, with all of its capes, daggers and acrobatics, obviously still has its place, but I think it probably stimulates another part of the brain.)

I’ve been crying this week as I’ve repeatedly listened to this Van Zandt song. I hope it means something to you, and that you can find places to laugh throughout the rest of the show.

  1. “High, Low & In Between” – Townes Van Zandt (High, Low & In Between/Rhino/1972)
  2. “I Like You!” – Arthur Russell (Calling Out of Context/Audika/2004)
  3. “Eid Ma Clack Shaw” – Bill Callahan (Sometimes I Wish I Were and Eagle/Drag City/2009)
  4. “I Got a Letter” – Half-Handed Cloud (What’s the Remedy?/Asthmatic Kitty/2005)
  5. “Streethawk I” – Destroyer (Streethawk: A Seduction/Misra/2001)

Radio Free Raytown – Episode #36 (4/9/10)

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Episode 36: Dreaming the Perfect Song

  1. Brandon says:

    well, I think it’s lovely.

Leave a Reply

