Episode 70: The Real Lady Marmalade

Nick Lowe's band, Brinsley Schwarz, rocking the bling on album covers long before No Limit.

Every ten episodes I solicit ideas for a theme (because if you’ve listened to my show for any time at all, you know that I usually don’t have a theme and juxtapose all sorts of styles).  I went with what seemed to be the easiest theme suggested to me for this show, original versions of songs later made famous by other artists.  I believe the impetus for this was in discussing a cover of some Patti Smith song (that my friend didn’t even realize was her song.)

We no longer get to see the songwriting credits under the song title on the 45, and digital music’s nail in liner notes’ coffin has ensured that we rarely know a song’s authorship.

I didn’t go for the real obvious stuff; there’s not Robert Johnson or Jimmy Webb here.  That said, I tried to choose stuff most with which most folks would be familiar.  Enjoy.

  1. “Lady Marmalade” – Labelle (Nightbirds / Epic / 1974)
  2. “Working in the Cole Mine” – Lee Dorsey (Working in the Colemine / Amy / 1966)
  3. “(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding” – Brinsley Schwarz (The New Favourites of Brinsley Schwarz / United Artists / 1974)
  4. “I Heard it Through the Grapevine” – Gladys Knight and the Pips (Everybody Needs Love / Soul / 1967)
  5. “Forever Young” – Bob Dylan (Planet Waves / Columbia / 1974)
  6. “One” – Harry Nilsson (Aerial Pandemoneum Ballet / RCA Victor / 1971)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1415312/70radiofreeraytown.mp3″

Radio Free Raytown – Episode #70 (2/11/11)

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Episode 70: The Real Lady Marmalade

  1. Ben H says:

    Great show! I really enjoyed it.

    Oddly, I had forgotten that Devo had done “Working In A Cole Mine.” Did that do better on the charts and become more popular than the original? Maybe it’s just because I heard the Lee Dorsey version so much listening to WHB riding around with my dad.

Leave a Reply

