Little by little by hook or by crook.

In addition to my concerts that bookend my week, I’ve applied for several jobs, and I’m preparing for a job fair tomorrow.  Just because I don’t have a new episode this week that doesn’t mean I don’t have thoughts on music.

  • The new Radiohead album, The King of Limbs, was released a day early last week.  It’s been fascinating to see younger blogsters try to reassess the band’s career and importance.  Two things are for certain.  One, Radiohead continues to remind us of the distinction between music and artifact, while never scrimping on either.  The other, Phil Selway continues chipping away at his drumming, making it more economical with each release.
  • Arthur Russell is the man.
  • A few weeks ago, Living Social offered a deal to get a $20 credit at Amazon for only $10.  I used it to buy the new Decemberists’ LP, The King is Dead.  It finally arrived this week.  As Colin Meloy has sucessfully focused on pop songs instead of progressive folk rock statements, it’ll probably be one of my favorite albums this year.
  • I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned I am a member of LastFM.  Keep up with my listening habits, if so voyeuristically inclined.
  • I finished mixing my new solo album, An Uneasy Empathy, on Monday.  I’ve listened to it several times in its entirety to ensure it feels how I had intended, and it’s rather ambitious while remaining pastoral and reflective.  If songs could be held, this album would be that warm blanket by a new wave pink fire.  Now, I just need to get it mastered.
  • I just started getting hip to Gillian Welch this week.  (I know, I know, I’m about fourteen years late…)  I downloaded the first five tracks from Revival.  I like it a lot.
Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

