Thought cornucopia.

The Wake's first album, Harmony.

Episode #77 will have to wait until next week, but that’s not because I lack ideas or opinions.

  • I’ve never really been much of a Strokes fan, but a friend gave me the band’s new album, Angles, last week.  It leaves me with the same feeling I get from good Coldplay songs–while they may be decent, the singer sounds like he’s still just singing for girls.  I truly don’t know what to think.  The last half is decent, veering into some moody synth rock, but the first half i’s still just so dang mediocre.
  • I’ve been on a Paul McCartney kick this week, but I don’t think my wife minds.
  • The new Low album is growing on me, a little.  But mostly the Velvet Underground-ish songs.  Surprise, surprise.
  • Katy and I visited Earwaxx Records on Record Store Day last week.  We picked up the new record by The Pains of Being Pure at Heart.  Guess that makes us hipsters now.
  • I discovered Bobby Gillespie’s pre-Jesus and Mary Chain band, The Wake, this week.  It was an early-80s band on Factory Records that sounded an awful lot like Movement-era New Order.  Its first album, Harmony is a great, albeit derivative, album that Beach Fossils would love to make.
  • Dig The Pitch‘s pictures from Zebedee’s RPM on Record Store Day.
  • I heard Cut Copy’s song, “Corner of the Sky,” on Michael Moore’s show last weekend, and it was amazing.
  • I just got Scarlet Youth‘s EP, Breaking the Patterns, on eMusic.  This band is so freaking good.  I may have to break up My Science Fiction Twin because this band just made our dream album for us.
Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

