Episode 80: I’m Gonna Lose My Mind

I jumped at my friend’s suggestion to do a surf-themed show for my eightieth episode.

I love surf.  Heck, I’m a sucker for just about anything with jangly, reverberating guitars.  Most early surf bands lacked vocalists and snatched cool elements of country and R&B–twangy guitars and grooving rhythm sections.  Surf rock purists, in fact, won’t even acknowledge vocal acts like Jan & Dean or The Beach Boys.  (And to be fair, were you really a surf band if you didn’t even surf?)

I probably cover too much territory in this show, but I try to showcase some originators and the people they influenced fifty years later.  As usual, my choices are less then predictable, with deep album cuts and non-hits.  What counts is that I love all the music, and I hope you do, as well.

  1. “The Switch” –  The Ventures (Walk Don’t Run | Dolton | 1960)
  2. “Honky Tonk” – The Ventures (Walk Don’t Run | Dolton | 1960)
  3. “The Breeze and I” – Santo and Johnny (Encore | Canadian-American | 1960)
  4. “Chorek” – John Zorn (Masada Rock | Tzadik | 2005)
  5. “Hintergrund” – Pluramon (Render Bandits | Mille Plateaux | 1998)
  6. “Lose My Mind” – Starflyer 59 (The Changing of the Guard | Tooth and Nail | 2010)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1415312/80radiofreeraytown.mp3″

Radio Free Raytown – Episode #80 (6/10/11)

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

