Episode 82: Loneliness is a Very Special Place

Eminem + spacesuit = Randy VanWarmer

I’m going to have a son.  Although we went in for the ultrasound on Wednesday, the news didn’t really sink in until yesterday.  I don’t know how that really relates to this blog, except that my output here will probably slow down as we approach his dude date in November.

Summertime is always a wonderful time of music-listening for me.  Because it makes so much sense on hot, summer walks, I’m working my way through New Order’s entire discography right now.  I feel an itching to do the same with Fugazi, too.  And I’ll probably have lots of time for that in July, as today is the last day of summer school.

Anyway, this week’s show is insane.  I found this Randy VanWarmer record, Terraform, at the Half Price Books in Westport.  Although it was on Bearsville, I had no idea what it would sound like.  I figured it was maybe some middle-of-the-road 70s singer-songwriter stuff, but since VanWarmer was wearing a spacesuit on the cover, my curiosity was piqued.  The album delivered super-average yacht rock, but with a mind-blowing title cut.  Enjoy.

  1. “Dunkerque” – Françoiz Breut (À L’Aveuglette | Le Pop Musik | 2008)
  2. “Thoughts of You” – Dennis Wilson (Pacific Ocean Blue | Caribou | 1977)
  3. “Field” – New Order (Get Ready sessions | London | 2001)
  4. “Terraform” – Randy VanWarmer (Terraform | Bearsville | 1980)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1415312/82radiofreeraytown.mp3″

Radio Free Raytown – Episode #82 (6/30/11)

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

