Episode 91: Phasers on Stun

A while back, I called up a record store in Indianapolis to order a super-limited edition 12″ single The Flaming Lips recorded with Neon Indian.  After giving the clerk, Dan, my credit card information, we began discussing uber-obscure, hazy and psychedelic garage bands.  During that conversation, I remember Dan saying he listens to so much music that he doesn’t really stick with one record for very long…say less than two weeks.

Whether it’s due to owning too much music or it’s a sort of musical attention deficit disorder, I feel much the same.  While this may be problematic to some, I find that wearing out new albums always points me back to my all-time favorite artists and records.

I love 60s jazz and 90s indie rock; they are like musical comfort foods to me.  Enjoy.

  1. “Knife Rape” – Mothguts (III | Thor’s Rubber Hammer | 2009)
  2. “Spectrum” – Andrew Hill (Point of Departure | Blue Note | 1964)
  3. “Mykologics” – Mouse on Mars (Niun Niggung | Thrill Jockey | 1999)
  4. “Kazuality” – Blonde Redhead (Fake Can be Just as Good | Touch and Go | 1997)
  5. “Phasers on Stun/Sola Kola” – Yatsura (We Are Yatsura | Che Trading | 1996)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1415312/91radiofreeraytown.mp3″

Radio Free Raytown – Episode #91 (9/28/11)

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

