Fall bands (not to be confused with the band, The Fall)

I didn’t have time for a show this week (and I imagine that, upon Ian’s arrival, it’s unreasonable to expect them to arrive weekly).  My friend runs an excellent coffeeshop here in Raytown and, recently, Low’s music has been in heavy rotation at his store.  That, and the leaves cluttering my yard, have got me thinking a lot about fall music.

So I decided to compile a list of artists that almost excusively release make plangent, autumnal music.  For this discussion, I’m intentionally avoiding one-off fall albums.  Someone like Beck has released a couple great fall albums, Sea Change and One Foot in the Grave, but I wouldn’t consider him a fall musician.  I wanted to make a list of artists’ who always make fall music.  You know, guys like Nick Drake, whose catalog is to this season what the second chapter of Luke is to Christmastime.

This is certainly not an exhaustive list, but it includes artists who usually appear on my annual fall mixes.  As a courtesy, I have posted a link to a song by each artist.  The songs may not be the artists’ best, but they are surely indicative of their work.  (My choices are also limited by what’s available on YouTube.)

Enjoy.

  1. Nick Drake
  2. Bela Bartok
  3. Mark Kozelek (Red House Painters and Sun Kil Moon)
  4. Grant McLennan (The Go-Betweens and Jack Frost)
  5. Simon and Garfunkel
  6. Dean Wareham (Galaxie 500 and Luna)
  7. The Innocence Mission
  8. Low
  9. Robert Deeble
  10. Junior Boys
Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

