Tag Archives: the flaming lips

Episode 92: Wake that Sleepyhead in You

Anticipating Ian’s arrival in a few weeks (if he’s punctual), one of the things I’ve been considering is responding to and teaching discernment with coarse language.  And because I’ve been on a Sonic Youth kick recently, I’ve specifically thought about cussing in music.

I’ll spare you most of my thoughts and conversation with my wife, but I can say that I am convinced parents must model for children a healthy respect of language.  I don’t think this involves overreacting to my son when he inevitably drops a minor curse word…and on the other end of the spectrum, it obviously doesn’t mean I should mean that I should cuss like a sailor.  I guess I have some time to figure things out before he gets old enough that it matters.  You know, maybe I have enough time before then to write a book…

Enjoy the show.

  1. “No Room” – Two-Pound Planet (No Sense of History | Alternative/Stunt | 1992)
  2. “(I Got A) Catholic Block” – Sonic Youth (Sister | SST | 1987)
  3. “Surgeon” – St. Vincent (Strange Mercy | 4AD | 2011)
  4. “Natural Frost” – Welcome (Sirs | FatCat | 2007)
  5. “Salad of Speech” – 100 Flowers (100 Years of Pulchritude | EMI | 1990)
  6. “Okay, I’ll Admit That I really Don’t Understand” – The Flaming Lips (Zaireeka | Warner | 1997)
  7. “Listen, It’s Gone” – The Ocean Blue (Beneath the Rhythm and Sound | Sire | 1993)
Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Episode 22: Snow Flakes

Holidays are difficult, as they seem to magnify everything that’s right or wrong about our lives.  I’ve, many times, been left scratching my head on Christmas Eve, wondering why things aren’t how they should be.

In light of that, I wanted to make a mix that would be both joyous and reflective.  And in both cases, I think it must be reverent.  I hope you like it.

  1. “Early on One Christmas Morn” – Bruce Cockburn (Christmas/Sony/1993)
  2. “Still, Still, Still” – The Billions (Quiet as It’s Kept/independent/2000)
  3. “Snow Flakes” – The Ventures (The Ventures’ Christmas Album/Dolton/1965)
  4. “Silent Night/Lord Can You Hear Me” – The Flaming Lips (Christmas on Mars/Warner Brothers/2008)
  5. “Oh Little Town of Bethlehem” – Julian Koster (The Singing Saw at Christmastime/Merge/2008)
  6. “Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth)” – George Harrison (Living in the Material World/Capitol/1973)

Radio Free Raytown – Episdode #22 (12/18/09)

Tagged , , , , , ,

Poptek, The Lips and The Langley Sisters


Ruetschle plays Exotic Destinations

I want to pass along some random pieces of news.

First, everyone should be familiar with Poptek Records from Dayton, Ohio.  Not only do they release some great pop music, but Andy Ingram also sends out a song every month to subscribers of his mailing list.  Sign up today.

Next, I have to talk about the new Flaming Lips album that comes out next week.  (Am I the only one who ponders the antiquated notion of release dates in our post-Napster age?)  A friend of mine gave the MP3s to me last week, and I love the album.  Anyone who knows me should know that, although I own quite a few of their albums, I really don’t get into much of the Lips’ catalogue.  Honestly,  I’ve just always been more of a fan of Mercury Rev.  That said, this new album, Embryonic, is amazing.  The band is clearly not playing to the crowd on this one, the drums sound like trash and Wayne’s voice is treated as an instrument again.  Anyway, I just want people to be aware of this super-cool limited edition release of the album with crazy artwork.

The Langley Sisters

The Langley Sisters, a new addition to the Velvet Blue Music roster

Last, I’ll just copy and paste from an e-mail that Jeff Cloud at Velvet Blue Music sent me about one of his new bands, The Langley Sisters (who will be featured in an upcoming episode of Radio Free Raytown).  This release sounds like a must-have for us vinyl nerds who dig limited edition junk.

The Langley Sisters are three lovely, young ladies from London, who craft songs from a forgotten era.  Their gorgeous string, horn, and piano sections should pretty much separate them from most everything else in your inbox today !  The single for the track “Queen Bee” will be a limited edition vinyl, each jacket numbered, on white vinyl, and will of course include a download code.  We should also mention that the tracks were recorded and produced by the fabulous Mr. Ed Harcourt.  Late October release.

See them on the road :

09/14 Glasglow @ King Tuts w/ Paloma Faith
09/15 Manchester @ The Ruby Lounge w/ Paloma Faith
09/17 London @ Scala w/ Paloma Faith
09/20 London @ Spice of Life
10/10 London @ The Hootenany

Tagged , , , , , , , ,