Episode 86: Too Much on My Mind

A couple weeks ago, I re-loaned This is Where I Belong: The Songs of Ray Davies and The Kinks to a friend.  He’s been playing it in his koffeeshop, re-reminding me of Davies’ genius.  (As if I ever forgot, right?)  Since then, I’ve been on a krazy Kinks kick.  It’s almost as if I’m back in kollege when I discovered the band.

The funny thing about my musical discovery process is that because my parents kared so little about rock and roll (they, in fact, were decidedly against it), I didn’t take any usual path to the important albums.  I didn’t start with Rubber Soul or Are You Experienced? to learn about the 1960s.  I heard about The Kinks are the Village Green Preservation Society, and dove into that.  My discovery of The Beatles’ albums would come much, much later.

Anyway, on to the show.  If you live in Raytown, you have to love a guy named Ray, right??  Enjoy.

  1. “Till the End of the Day” – The Kinks (The Kink Kontroversy | Reprise | 1965)
  2. “Sunny Afternoon” – The Kinks (Face to Face | Reprise | 1965)
  3. “Village Green” – The Kinks (The Kinks are the Village Green Preservation Society | Reprise | 1968)
  4. “Shangri-La” – The Kinks (Arthur (Or the Decline and Fall of the British Empire) | Reprise | 1969)
  5. “Too Much on My Mind” – The Kinks (Face to Face | Reprise | 1965)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1415312/86radiofreeraytown.mp3″

Radio Free Raytown – Episode #86 (8/5/11)

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Episode 86: Too Much on My Mind

  1. jon schneider says:

    really enjoyed this. Great song choices all. I do recommend checking out post-Muswell Hillbillies Kinks as well though. Even though they never released another true classic, a la Arthur, Village Green, Face to Face or Something Else, there were nearly always a gem or two on each album and depending on your taste, you may find more than that on some of them. State of Confusion has it’s share and Sleepwalker is an underrated album as well. Anyway, I very much enjoyed this.

  2. I will be sure to look for those albums (they are easy to cheaply find in bargain bins). If there’s one thing I’ve learned in my short 31 years, it’s that my appreciation for music changes. I’m now listening to records I once thought I hated. It’s not like I don’t hope to find gems on those records; it’s been so long since I’ve heard them that I can’t even remember.

Leave a Reply

