Episode #16: The Hit

radio free raytown the hit 45 cover

In this episode, I feature a side from an EP that I won on eBay a few months ago.  I did some research and learned it was bundled with the first (and, as far as I can tell, only) issue of a British alternative rock magazine, The Hit, in 1985.  This particular side features a live recording by The Style Council of its soon-to-be-released hit, “Walls Come Tumbling Down,” and a just-record track that would later be issued on the first Jesus and Mary Chain album, Psychocandy.

radio free raytown the hit 45 back

  1. King Crimson – Sleepless (Three of a Perfect Pair – 1984)
  2. Colder – Tonight (Heat – 2005)
  3. The Style Council – Walls Come Tumbling Down (live) (The Hit 45 – 1985)
  4. The Jesus and Mary Chain – Taste of Cindy (The Hit 45– 1985)
  5. King Tubby – Dub to the Rescue (Dub Gone Crazy: The Evolution of Dub at King Tubby’s 1975-1977 – 1995)
  6. Junior Boys – In the Morning (So This is Goodbye – 2006)

Radio Free Raytown – Episode #16 (10/23/09)

P.S. – I have archived episodes 6-10 and placed them in a zip file.  Download it here if you wish to have them for posterity.

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Episode #16: The Hit

  1. Ben Helt says:

    I can’t help but think of David Byrne’s vocals while listening to that King Crimson.

  2. Russ says:

    I was in the UK in 1985 and very much listening to all the bands included on this EP (including the Redskins), but I don’t remember this magazine at all…

    I never really got into Three of a Perfect Pair. I think Discipline was incredible and I really enjoyed Beat. I’ve been listening to some official bootlegs lately, and Sleepless survived surprisingly well into the live environment…

    I don’t know why I think of the Jam as a live band, but can never think of Style Council that way…

  3. Jonathon says:

    I don’t know which came first, but I’m pretty sure that Byrne proceeded Belew with those vocals. The similarity is not merely coincidental, however, as Belew played with the Talking Heads (as well as Bowie, Zappa and countless others).

    And Russ, Three of a Perfect Pair is a confounding record for me. I obviously find much to like about it (“Model Man” and “Larks Tongues in Aspic Part III”), but then the excessive stuff (“Dig Me” and “Industry”) bring me back to try and figure out the record. That said, I really like “Nuages” and think it’d make for great music during an offering some Sunday morning.

  4. John says:

    Any chance you archived this anywhere? I am looking the J&MC track …

  5. john says:

    Any chance you’ve archived this somewhere, I’d love to download it.

  6. john says:

    You rock! This summer, when I have some spare time, I need to do the same thing, and start posting my rare singles, etc.

Leave a Reply

